History of the County of Dublin

New history book is now available!

History of the County of Dublin ~ By Franxis Elrington Ball.


The parishes included in this part of the history form the southern border of the metropolitan county. They are situated in the baronies of rathdown, Uppercross, and Newcastle, and are bounded to the east by the sea, to the south and west by the Counties of Wicklow and Kildare, and to the north by the parishes of Killiney, Tully, Taney, Rathfarnham, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Clondalkon, Kilbride and Kilmactalway. Within their limits lies the range of bills known as the Dublin mountains, and owing to their situation they differ in their circustances from the parishes already treated of in this history. A great extent of the lands which they contain is unprofitable or of little value. In the remainder, instead of a vast increase of population, there has been a diminution in the number of the inhabintants, and, instead of advancing prosperity, a loss of imporatnce in the village and country residences.

Click here to read more.